Point Pleasant!!!! - Reisverslag uit Pompton Lakes, Verenigde Staten van Pieternel Cremers - WaarBenJij.nu Point Pleasant!!!! - Reisverslag uit Pompton Lakes, Verenigde Staten van Pieternel Cremers - WaarBenJij.nu

Point Pleasant!!!!

Door: Pieternel

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Pieternel

27 Juli 2006 | Verenigde Staten, Pompton Lakes

Hey everyone!!!

Can't believe it's been so long since I've written a message for you all. Pretty sure some days just didn't show up this year and that I skipped them without even noticing them!!! We're halfway through the summer already.... Don't wanna think about it.....

But yeah, let me tell you what I've been up to lately.

Last week I had a 14 yr old boy with Down Syndrom called Ben. A stubborn, but very funny kid!!! Spent many hours just sitting on the ground and not going anywhere!! haha!!! He is a great dancer though, so we laughed a lot at his moves!!! And he could be very cute too!!! So all together it was a good week!!!

The weekend before we went tubing on the Delaware river with a bunch of people, which was loads of fun, gliding down rapids!!

Last weekend we went to another camp. It's called Eden Camp and it's from the school where Jess (health center) and Todd (director) work. It's for autistic children and it was really interesting to see how they work and to see another camp. Now I would still like to see a very rich private camp where they have everything!!!

This week I have a 7yr old boy who is neurologically impaired/developmental delayed;Jacob. He's a chubby kid and looks very cute, but can also be very strongwilling and not listening. He is obsessed with food and doesn't know when to stop, so that's quite a fight after every meal when I have decided he's had enough.... He also loves water and doesn't know depth, so he'll just walk to the deeper end of the pool and start coughing and drowning.... Not one I can let go out of sight for one sec as you can read!!! The water bit made today extra special....

....Because today we went on a trip to Point Pleasant, a town on the Jersey shore!!! About 1,5hr from camp. The first activity there was riding boats, so I got one of the big guys, who is also a life guard, with me for this trip. There were about 30 boats and in one big line we cruised over the water. I loved it!! Made me realise how much I love boats!!! But didn't have a lot of time to relax, cause my kid tried to get into the water the whole time. He was wearing a life jacket,which was easy to hold on to. My buddy Isaac wanted to see how far Jacob would go and he actually made it with one leg on each side, then I started screaming!! haha!!! It was funny though. All the time Jacob walked to the spot where no one was sitting to see if he could get over!! Crazy boy!!!

After the boat ride of about an hour we went to one of the lodges of the Elks and had lunch. After a few hours about 20 fire trucks and ambulances pulled up and we went for an 1,5hr ride on these. A nice tour around Point Pleasant (bit of a Blackpool, for our UK-lovers). Polica cars made all the traffic stop and everyone waved at us!!! (Sort of ' Truckertruck', for fellow Deurnenaars!!!!). Was very funny!!! It was a good day, except for the moment when Jacob decided to start his poo while I had just taken his diaper off..... Poo all over the toilet.... YUK!!!! Still can't believe some of the thing I do here!! haha!!! Been cleaning up puke this evening. And that wasn't the first time.... Ah well, goes with the job!!! I still love it all!!!!

Well, it's almost 2am now.... Way past my bed time already, but this is the only time I can do a decent update without people breathing in my neck telling me to hurry up!!! Hope to be able to put some pics on soon as well, but haven't got them on CD yet!!

Hope you're all doing okay!!! Let me know what you're up to!!! And remember YOU CAN SEND ME ACTUAL PAPER MAIL AND POSTCARDS!!!!! My bed neighbour has her wall full already.... I HAVE NOTHING!!!!!! Once more:
Pieternel Cremers
ELKS CAMP MOORE
PO Box 375
Pompton Lakes, NJ 07442
USA
I WON't STOP BEGGING UNTIL I GET SOME CARDS!!!!!!! Take care!!! XXX Pep

  • 27 Juli 2006 - 10:47

    Stephanie:

    Hey, it sounds like fun there! I'm moving this Saturday, can't wait! Enjoy your stay once more there! And your kids are really funny! Bye bye!

  • 30 Juli 2006 - 10:55

    Jude:

    hey honey tried phonin ya yesterday i'll try again 2day - mobile being a bit awkard at the moment sendin txt's 2 international numbers! it must just think u r smelly 2! ha. Started my job friday there this 9-5 not gonna b fun! ha every1 seems lovely thou - sent ya a letter yesterday 2 hope i'll b the 1st letter! ha. Hope all is well say hi 2 every1 4 me missin camp loads and loads!!!!! and maybe u just a little ;o) ha love ya honey XXX

  • 30 Juli 2006 - 16:55

    Jude:

    mobile workin now! tried callin ya just got spratt! ur folks over like she said u were meetin them in new york? what kid ya got now? miss ya honey! X

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Pieternel

Tsja...moet ik nog vertellen dat ik graag op reis ben!?

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 131
Totaal aantal bezoekers 78126

Voorgaande reizen:

16 April 2015 - 29 Juli 2015

Mable syrup pancakes and Grizzly's in the wild!

20 September 2010 - 11 Mei 2011

Back again!

01 Januari 2008 - 21 Augustus 2008

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: